Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Research

Translation of Lectures

Talks and lectures often offer valuable content for a large audience. However, due to the language barrier many talks cannot reach all potential listeners. Due to their high costs, human translations are only in very few cases a feasible option.

Speech-to-speech translation technology can fill a gap, and can offer a solution for many situations, in which human interpreters and translators would be too expensive. Speech-to-speech translation systems are a combination of the technologies of automatic speech recognition (ASR), machine translation (MT), and speech synthesis.

 Many interesting research aspects can be found in the area of automatic speech recognition:

 

Topic Adaptation

Speech recognition systems deliver their best performance, when adapted to the style and content of the speech to be recognized as closely as possible. Differencies between the topic on which the models have been trained and the topic of the speech to be recognized can lead to large drops in performance, due to out-of-vocabulary words and wrongly estimated n-gram possiblities within the language model of the recognition system.

Run-Time and Latency

Especially for the case of simultaneous translation, speech recognition has to be conducted in in real-time, and the result has to be deliverd with as little latency as possible. Only then, the listeners of the talk will be able to follow the translation and to relate the content of the lectures to the interaction of the lecturer with his audience. With respect to latency interesting questions arise with respect to the interface with the machine translation component, since, in order to be able to translate correctly, a certain amount of linguistic context needs to available to the translation component.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Forschung in der RG 3-01

Übersetzung von Vorlesungen

Vorträge und Vorlesungen bieten häufig wertvolle Inhalte für eine große Gruppe von Zuhörern. Aufgrund von Sprachbarrieren können viele Vorträge aber nicht das volle Potential an Zuhörern erreichen. Aufgrund der hohen Kosten sind menschliche Übersetzer nur für wenige Fälle eine Option.

Sprach-zu-Sprach-Übersetzungstechnik kann hier eine Lücke füllen und für die vielen Situationen, in denen menschliche Übersetzer zu teuer wären, eine Lösung bieten. Sprach-zu-Sprach-Übersetzungssysteme sind dabei die Kombination aus den Techniken der automatischen Spracherkennung (ASR), maschineller Übersetzung (MT) und Sprachsynthese.

Im Bereich der automatischen Spracherkennung ergeben sich mit Bezug auf die simultane Übersetzung von Vorlesungen wichtige Forschungsaspekte:

Themenadaption

Spracherkennungssysteme liefern die beste Leistung, wenn sie auf den Sprachstil und den Inhalt der zu erkennenden Sprache so gut wie möglich angepasst sind. Diskrepanzen zwischen den Themen mit denen die Modelle trainiert wurden und den Themen der zu erkennenden Sprachen führen unter Umständen zu großen Leistungseinbußen wegen sogenannter "Out-Of-Vocabulary" Worte und falsch geschätzer N-Gram-Wahrscheinlichkeiten im Sprachmodell des Erkennungssystems.

Laufzeit und Latenz

Insbesondere für die simultane Übersetzung von Vorlesungen die Spracherkennung muss in Echtzeit durchgeführt werden und das Ergebniss mit möglichst geringer Latenz zur Verfügung stellen. Nur so können die Zuhörer der Übersetzung Folgen und den Inhalt der Vorlesung in Beziehung setzen zur Interaktion des Vorlesenden mit den Hörern. Im Bereich der Latenz ergeben sich interessante Fragestellungen an der Schnittstelle zur maschinellen Übersetzung, da zur Durchführung einer richtigen Übersetzung eine gewisse Menge an linguistischem Kontext vorhanden sein muss.